Deacon Affirmation

Each year around March the Deacon Leadership Team starts the process of selecting men for the next year.  The selection format is that the deacons propose a slate of up-to 15 men to the church for affirmation.  This year there are 14 being presented to the church.

The criteria for Deacons are men who love the Lord, support the church, and are consistently involved in ministry for the church.  They are called to visit the hospitals, handle emergencies, visit nursing homes, and where appropriate, visit the homebound.  Due to COVID, they have had to become creative with visits -including calls, text, and zoom.

These are the men who have agreed to serve in this capacity for a two-year term.  The first column is the group elected and affirmed last year, so their term runs the two years of 2021 & 2022.  The second column is the group that we, as a church are affirming in all three services this weekend.  Their term will run for the two years of 2022 & 2023.

2021-2022 Term

Jim Bishop

Danny Brown

Ed Buckley

Joey Cochran

Mike Fairburn

Carl Fredericks

John Fricke

Jason Hunt

Adam Martin

Mike Martin

Larry McKinney

Rhett Rush

Todd Snure

Steve Soileau

Barry Strickland

2022-2023 Term

Clif Anglin

Sean Barnes

Tim Crabtree

Darrell Fussell – newly serving

Rob Hatley – newly serving

Jonathan Hills

Matthew Johnston

Steve Mikell

Tommy Milazzo

Dale Padgett

Dwayne Schaefer

Tom Stogner

Brad Thompson

Mark Thompson

Part of our worship for January 8-9, 2022, will be a time to pray over our newly serving deacons – Darrell Fussell and Rob Hatley – and to affirm the other 12 men.


– Waylon